Sanne Thijssen and Con Quidam RB are the victors in the Ayuntamiento de Barbate Trophy

IMG 2914

Michael Pender is second with HHS Fortune and Eduardo Álvarez Aznar with DOrient Batilly take third

Vejer, 16th March, 2024 – Yesterday we hosted the Ayuntamiento de Barbate Trophy, a FEI Longines Ranking, 1.50 speed class, held in the grass, David Broome area. Irish, Michael Pender was fourth to go and took an early lead in the with HHS Fortune (Catoki x Douglas). He set the time to beat at 61.76s and was pretty secure on top of the preliminary podium for much of the class.

That was until top Dutch rider, Sanne Thijssen came in with Con Quidam RB (Quinar Z x Cardino 5) and flew round with a superb clear in a mere, 60.16s taking the lead and leaving Michael in second place. After that no one could step up to the challenge, but the Spanish rider, Eduardo Álvarez Aznar and D´Orient de Batilly (Numero Uno x Quaprice Boimargot Quincy) had a great round and took third place, just in front of fellow Spaniard, Alberto Márquez Galobardes with Kelly and the Brazilian rider, Pedro Veniss with Nimrod de Muze Imperio Egipcio who was fifth.

The Big Tour 1.45 was exciting class and was won by the successful Czech rider, Ales Opatrny with Holland TN in 22.36s, who came in just a smidgeon in front of Pedro Veniss and Nice Van Baublo in 22.37s. Third was Spanish, Leticia Riva Gil with Cadum de Champloue; and another Brazilian, Yuri Mansur took fourth with Fleur DOz and finally, in fifth, was Irish, Niamh McEvoy with Hybernia.

There was a British top two in the Big Tour, 1.35; with Thomas Whitaker taking the top spot on Billy Fu and Joe Fernyhough coming in second with Calcourt Countdown; Third was Spanish, Kevin González de Zárate with Cinsey EK; fourth another British rider, Laura Mantel with Arizona DIve Z and finally in fifth was Spanish, Diana Piera Salamero with Valencia du Dieu DArras Z.

In the 1.45 Medium Tour, Irish riders took the top two places, Richard Howley shone with an impressive win on Pandito Vant Merelsnest Z in 30.98s; and in second in 32.04s was Jack Ryan with Sympathie 60. Third was Spanish, Pilar Cordón Muro with Noblesse Du Palis; fourth Danish, Laura Baaring Kjaergaard with Consult Picobello Z and in fifth, Belgian, Yves Vanderehasselt with Nikita Van de Koekelberg.

The Irish really had a good day here yesterday with another victory, in the 1.40, from one of their most successful riders, Jessica Burke with Inpulss. Second was Belgian, Marine Scauflaire with Snapchat Van de Broekkant Z; third, Spanish, Lucía Fernández with Londons Bella; fourth, Pedro Veniss with another top placing, this time with Chesterfield Z and fifth was Swedish, Amanda Eriksson with Fifty Cent.

The Medium Tour 1.30 was won by Marine Scauflaire, this time riding, Ibiza Van de Kapel. In second was British, Jodie Joanne Burchmore-Eames with Contessa Z; third, French rider, Guy Jonqueres DOriola with Aloma de Grandcamp; fourth, British legend, John Whitaker with Cornets Olona and in fifth German Leonie Böckmann with Four Roses 13.

In the Medium Tour 1.20, our winners were: British, Joshua Hutchins with Billy Sarafina; Swedish, Olivia Munkberg with Invicta Del Maset; Spanish, Antonio Mariñas Soto with Qute Hero TC; German, Lena Marie Zins with VDL Groep Gravin and once again, Jodie Joanne Burchmore-Eames this time with Gardentio.

The Small Tour results: a British top two in the biggest class, the 1.40. from Ben Walker with Fygo Von DOuwe Grint and Emma Stoker with Q Seven. Spanish rider, Olivia Álvarez García with Cocopelli B, was third.
Winners in the other classes were: British, Ava Vernon with Billy Trysil in the 1.35 and Jordanian, Hamza Kiswani with King of Diamonds Zin the 1.30.

In the CSI1*, our winners in the 1.30, 1.20 and 1.10 were as follows: British riders, Arianna Kuligowski with Ivascalle; Rebecca Middleton with Okehurst Mr Smooth and Harriet Thompson with Heros Chin de Litrange III.

The 30th Andalucía Sunshine Tour, is sponsored by the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sports of the Government of Andalucía, through Tourism and Sports of Andalucía.

Jumping continues today with a dozen classes including the Small Grand Prix. Access to the installations is free, as is parking in designated areas. If you cannot attend, live action can be seen streamed via the web page, the Sunshine Tour App or online on Clip My Horse. Full results can be seen on our website and the App.

Press release Sunshine Tour | Photo by Mackenzie Clark: Sanne Thijssen and Con Quidam RB

Stay updated on Horse Show Jumping news

Subscribe to the newsletter
Tenuta Monticelli logo
Logo Acavallo
Logo stephex
logo VeTeaching
IMG 7016
IMG 7017
logo KEP
logo Porrini Spa
club ippico euratom ogo
powerline logo