Team Belgium wins gold at the FEI Jumping European Championship for Juniors 2022 in Oliva Nova

Herve Bonnaud 1clicphoto

On Thursday, competitions at the FEI Jumping European Championship for Young Riders, Juniors and Children 2022 in Oliva Nova, Spain, continued with the Juniors’ team final, as well as the second individual qualifier for the Young Riders which also counted as the first round of their team final.
In the category for Juniors, it was time to decide the first medals of the Championship. With 91 horse-and-rider combinations at start, the second round of the team final – presented by Stephex Horsetrucks – was jumped over a 1.40m course.
On a score of 8.71, Team Belgium was leading the way ahead of Thursday’s final round, followed by The Netherlands in second on 9.89, Ireland in third on 11.67, while Great Britain was fourth on 14.48 followed by France in fifth on 14.59.
The Belgian and Dutch teams delivered four and three flawless rounds respectively to win gold and silver. For Belgium, Evelyne Putters on Nabeau van het Migroveld Z (Nabab de Reve x Taran de la Pomme), Aurelia Guisson on No Limit vh Legitahof Z (Nabab de Reve x Berlin), Leon Brutsaert on Corleone Tour Vidal (Mylord Carthago x Sisley de La Tour Vidal) and Luiz Felipe Neto de Azevedo on Valentino Massuere (Canturo x Galoubet A) all jumped clear – keeping their score on 8.71 and securing the gold for Belgium. The fifth rider on the Belgian team was Louise Ameeuw, with Nasty Boy de Muze (Bamako de Muze x Tinka’s Boy).
© Hervé Bonnaud /
The Dutch team – today consisting of Mart Ijland on Hero (Cantos x BMC Kigali), Thijmen Vos on Ive Got The Key (Womanizer x Ekstein), Milan Morssinkhof on Checkpoint Chacco (Chacco-Blue x Ferragamo) and Nick Nanning on Bandia (Clinsmann 2 x Quintero) – led by Chef d’Equipe Edwin Hoogenraat, took the team silver with a total score of 9.89 penalties after Vos, Morssinkhof and Nanning all jumped clear in Thursday’s round. The fifth rider on the Dutch team was Emma Bocken with Kadessa Z (Kannan x Harley VDL).
With a score of 15.67, Ireland – with Francis Derwin on AHG Whiterock Cruise Down (Cruisings Micky Finn x Touchdown), Rhys Williams on Cowboy Balou (Balou du Reventon x Poker), Tom Wachman on Lazzaro Delle Schiave (Acodetto 2 x Gluecksgriff) and Niamh Mcevoy on Templepatrick Welcome Limmeric (Limmerick x Lux Z) on the team – led by Chef d’Equipe James Kernan,  took the bronze medal. The fifth rider on the Irish team was Conor Mclaughlin with Kilbarron Rue (Gelvin Clover x Barron de Chantepie).
Individually, Belgium’s Evelyne Putters holds on to her lead on a score of 0.84 among the Juniors, followed by Dutch rider Nick Nanning on 2.43 in second, Hungary’s Gyula Szuhai Jr. on 2.75 in third, Spain’s Olivia Alvarez Garcia on 2.96 in fourth and Norway’s Ingrid Sandhei Bjørklund on 2.98 in fifth. However, the top eight remain within four penalties, keeping the excitement brewing ahead of Saturday’s individual final for the Juniors.



Press Release Oliva Nova
Photo © Hervé Bonnaud / – Belgian Juniors take team gold – Junior riders Leon Brutsaert, Luiz Felipe Neto de Azevedo, Evelyne Putters, Louise Ameeuw and Aurelia Guisson won the team gold for Belgium.

Stay updated on Horse Show Jumping news

Subscribe to the newsletter
IMG 7016
IMG 7017
logo KEP
logo Porrini Spa
club ippico euratom ogo
powerline logo