Thrills at La Baule: Shane Sweetnam Wins Derby

IMG 5809

© PSV Photos

The Derby of Jumping La Baule was a thrilling event, showing off top-notch horse riding skills. The 24-jump course was tough, and only two riders managed to get through without any faults. With 16 riders starting, the competition was fierce and exciting.

Shane Sweetnam Takes the Win

Irish rider Shane Sweetnam won the derby with his horse, Irandole du Flot. They completed the course in 137.97 seconds, impressing everyone with their speed and accuracy. Sweetnam’s ride was a masterclass in handling and quick thinking.

Steve Guerdat Comes Second

Swiss rider Steve Guerdat, on his stallion Easy Star de Talma, came in second. They also had a clear round, finishing in 140.54 seconds. Known for his steady and precise riding, Guerdat showed why he’s one of the best in the sport.

Lily Atwood Shines in Third

Young British rider Lily Atwood came third with her horse, Jhonny Walker. She had the fastest time of 139.77 seconds but picked up four faults along the way. Despite this, her performance was impressive and highlighted her potential for the future.

A New Challenge

This year, for the first time in 40 years, the course at La Baule was completely changed. The new design included challenging derby jumps like banks, ditches, and walls. These unique obstacles made the course even more exciting and tested the riders’ skills to the max.

A Day to Remember

The Derby of Jumping La Baule continues to be a highlight in the equestrian calendar. This year’s event was extra special with the new course design and outstanding performances. Shane Sweetnam’s win, Steve Guerdat’s solid ride, and Lily Atwood’s promising run made it a day to remember. The equestrian world but most of all the La Baule spectators are already looking forward to next year’s event.

Full results

© Rights Reserved.

Stay updated on Horse Show Jumping news

Subscribe to the newsletter
avantea logo
Progetto senza titolo1
Tenuta Monticelli logo
Logo stephex
logo VeTeaching
IMG 7016
IMG 7017
Kep Italia
logo Porrini Spa
club ippico euratom ogo